

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH DATE: MARCH 7, 2025

Ε

# Intergovernmental Committee on Intellectual Property and Genetic Resources, Traditional Knowledge and Folklore

Fiftieth Session Geneva, March 3 to 7, 2025

DECISIONS OF THE FIFTIETH SESSION OF THE COMMITTEE

Adopted by the Committee

## DECISION ON AGENDA ITEM 2:

## ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

The Chair submitted the draft agenda circulated as WIPO/GRTKF/IC/50/1 Prov. for adoption and it was adopted.

### **DECISION ON AGENDA ITEM 3:**

#### ACCREDITATION OF CERTAIN ORGANIZATIONS

The Committee unanimously approved the accreditation of *Focus Droits et Accès*, Hear Their Voice Initiative (HTVI), *Initiative de Promotion de l'Education des Batwa pour le Développement Durable* (IPREBAD), Nepal Indigenous Nationalities Preservation Association (NINPA), and Union of Community Development Volunteers as *ad hoc* observers. The Committee did not approve the accreditation of Center for the Study of Cultural Heritage "Promoting the Sustainable Development of the Peoples of the North".

The Committee deferred the discussion of document WIPO/GRTKF/IC/49/8 (Proposal for Updating the List of Non-Governmental Organizations admitted as *Ad Hoc* Observers to the IGC) to a future session.

#### **DECISION ON AGENDA ITEM 4:**

#### PARTICIPATION OF INDIGENOUS AND LOCAL COMMUNITIES

The Committee took note of documents WIPO/GRTKF/IC/50/3 and WIPO/GRTKF/IC/50/INF/4.

The Committee strongly encouraged and called upon members of the Committee and all interested public and private entities to contribute to the WIPO Voluntary Fund for Accredited Indigenous and Local Communities.

The Chair proposed, and the Committee elected, the following eight members of the Advisory Board to serve in an individual capacity: Ms. Susan Anthony (United States of America); Ms. Flor De María García (Guatemala); Mr. Houlton Faasau (Samoa); Ms. June Lorenzo (International Indian Treaty Council); Ms. Sonia Patricia Murcia Roa (*Maloca Internationale*); Ms. Geiser Perrelet (*Instituto Indígena Brasilero da Propriedade Intelectual* (InBraPi)); Ms. Živilė Plyčiuraitytė-Plyčiūtė (Lithuania); and Ms. Tlalane Sebeko (Lesotho).

The Chair of the Committee nominated Ms. Audrey Akweley Yeboawaa Neequaye, a Vice-Chair of the Committee, to serve as Chair of the Advisory Board.

### **DECISION ON AGENDA ITEM 5:**

#### TRADITIONAL KNOWLEDGE/TRADITIONAL CULTURAL EXPRESSIONS

The Committee developed, on the basis of documents WIPO/GRTKF/IC/49/4 and WIPO/GRTKF/IC/49/5, a consolidated text, "The Protection of Traditional Knowledge and Traditional Cultural Expressions: Draft Articles". However, Member States were unable to reach consensus on the consolidated text and decided not to transmit this text to the Fifty-First Session of the IGC. Instead, the Committee decided to continue working on the basis of documents WIPO/GRTKF/IC/49/4 and WIPO/GRTKF/IC/49/5.

DECISION ON AGENDA ITEM 6: ANY OTHER BUSINESS There was no discussion under this item.

DECISION ON AGENDA ITEM 7:

CLOSING OF THE SESSION

The Committee adopted its decisions on agenda items 2, 3, 4 and 5 on March 7, 2025.

[End of document]